The Spirit of Christmas

It is January 6th also known as Epiphany or Twelfth Night.  In my family it always meant the end of the Christmas season, when we took down the decorations and packed them away for another year.  As an adult it has always been a time of deep reflection for me because Christmas means so much more to me than just the time from Advent to the twelfth night.   Christmas is the celebration of the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, which in reality is celebrated in my heart always.

So this night, January 6, 2012 I am sitting in my dark living room illuminated only by the lights on my Christmas tree.  Silent Night is playing softly in the background on the CD player.  I’m enjoying the last few moments of the Christmas season feeling a bit melancholy as I don’t want it to end.  This moment is reminiscent of the Holy night Jesus was born.  I reflect on that thanking Him for this special time off from the daily rat race, to gather with my family,  and enjoy each other.  This year for the first time in four years my four sons were with us for Christmas. That was my special gift this year.

So tomorrow I will get up and take down the Christmas decorations and pack them in the attic but the spirit of Christmas will live on in my heart throughout the year.

Leave a comment